We Are Here To Help

Appealing a decision by the Social Security Administration

If you applied for Social Security Disability benefits and were denied, you do have the option to appeal. Appealing is allowed, in most cases, within 60 days of receiving the notice of the Social Security Administration’s decision.

There are several levels of appeals to know about. You’ll start with the first level, which is a reconsideration appeal. Then, you can try other appeals, such as a hearing with an administrative law judge, appealing through the Appeals Council or taking your case to Federal Court.

Reconsideration appeals

To start with, you should ask the Social Security Administration to reconsider its decision. With this method, the original information, as well as any new evidence you submit, will be considered.

Administrative law hearing

If the reconsideration appeal doesn’t work out to your benefit, then you may consider a hearing by an administrative law judge. The judge, who will not have worked on your case before, will hold the hearing. It is normally within 75 miles of your home, but some cases can be handled over video.

Appeals court

When the prior two appeals attempts do not work, you can ask an Appeals Council to review your case. It may deny your request if the hearing’s decision was made in line with the current regulations and laws that bind the Social Security Administration. If it does review the case, it may decide on it itself or send it back to the administrative law judge.

Federal court

Finally, if you have used all of your other SSD appeals options, you can ask to have a Federal Court review. This requires you to file a civil suit.

These are your options for appealing your Social Security Disability claim’s denial. Many people receive denials the first time they apply, so you shouldn’t think that you’ll have no chance upon appeal. Many times, the appeal will help you get the benefits that you need. Make sure you sit down and discuss your legal options so that you provide enough supporting evidence for the Social Security Administration and know your next steps if you are denied again.